Meeting Dates

The Spondon Historical Society meet regularly at Spondon Village Hall for a variety talks, presentations and discussions.

Meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month and start at 7.30pm. Anyone is welcome to come along to the meetings with visitors paying a small admission charge. Details of our forthcoming meetings are as follows:

Monday, 14 January, 2019 The Dovedale Hoard, by Rachael Hall from the National Trust tells the story of a precious hoard of Roman and Late Iron Age coins has been discovered in a cave where it has lain undisturbed for more than 2,000 years. 
Monday, 11 February, 2019 Annoying Ancestors, by Gay Evans. An anecdotal tale of what to look for and the pitfalls to avoid when researching your family.
Monday, 11 March, 2019 Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Curiosities, by John Taylor. Join him on a serendipitous journey around both counties enjoying the strange, happy and tragic coincidences of history and circumstance.Continuing the theme of looking for the weird, the wonderful, the sublime and ridiculous..
Monday, 8 April, 2019 AGM, followed by a talk by Jane Middleton-Smith: Wonderful Things: a history of W W Winter Photographers of Derby.
Monday, 13 May, 2019 The Folk Songs of Derby and Derbyshire, by Pete Castle.
Monday, 10 June, 2019 Turf Mazes, by Richard Stone.
Monday, 8 July, 2019 Mediaeval Medicine: Superstition and Science, by Gareth Howell.
Monday, 12 August, 2019 No meeting.
Monday, 9 September, 2019 Radio Programmes of the 1940s and 1950s, by Mary de Ville.
Monday, 14 October, 2019 Storm in a Teashop, by Ann Featherstone.
Monday, 11 November, 2019 The Civil War in Derbyshire, by Brian Stone.
Monday, 9 December, 2019 A Tudor Christmas, by Helen Chambers.